Cassidy Barrios Voted Women’s Basketball Player of the Year

first_img2018 Women’s Basketball All-Defensive Team DeA’ngela Mathis Lamar G Sr. Bradenton, Fla. Barrios was a true all-around player for the Colonels in the regular season as she ranked in the top 10 against league opponents in scoring, rebounding, assists, field goal percentage, free throw percentage, steals and blocks. She averaged 18.1 points, 9.8 rebounds and 3.3 assists. She earned Southland Player of the Week a conference-best five times this season and recorded 15 overall double-doubles. Her well-rounded resume also landed her a spot on the All-Defensive Team. 2 Two-time All-Conference selection3 Three-time All-Conference selection Imani Robinson UIW G So. Round Rock, Texas Kiandra Bowers2 Lamar C/P Gr. West Palm Beach, Fla. Lamar leads the conference with four total selections, followed by Central Arkansas with three. Abilene Christian, Houston Baptist, UIW, New Orleans, Nicholls, Southeastern Louisiana, Stephen F. Austin and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi earned one spot each. All five first team selections are returning all-conference picks from last season while New Orleans senior guard Randi Brown is on her third all-conference team. Second team honorees Taylin Underwood, Kiandra Bowers and Kierra Jordan are all two-time selections. 2018 Women’s Basketball All-Conference First Team Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Taylor Sells Central Arkansas G So. Tulsa, Okla. Taylor Baudoin Central Arkansas F Sr. Columbus, Miss. Stevi Parker2 Stephen F. Austin F. Sr. Bixby, Okla. Kiandra Bowers Lamar C/P Gr. West Palm Beach, Fla. Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Chastadie Barrs2 Lamar G Jr. DeSoto, Texas Randi Brown3 New Orleans G Sr. Houma, La. 2018 Women’s Basketball All-Conference Second Team Honorable Mention: Taylor Jackson, Stephen F. Austin; Emma Young, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi; Shania Woods, New Orleans; Caitlyn Davis, McNeese; Channell Hayes, Stephen F. Austin; Kayla Mundy, New Orleans. Cassidy Barrios Nicholls G Jr. Raceland, La. Chastadie Barrs3 Lamar G Jr. DeSoto, Texas Amanda Johnson Houston Baptist G Jr. Georgetown, Texas Player of the Year: Cassidy Barrios, NichollsDefensive Player of the Year: Chastadie Barrs, LamarFreshman of the Year: Jadyn Pimentel, LamarNewcomer of the Year: Imani Johnson, Stephen F. AustinCoach of the Year: Robin Harmony, Lamar Kierra Jordan2 Central Arkansas C Sr. Jackson, Miss. Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown 3 Three-time All-Defensive selection Cassidy Barrios2 Nicholls G Jr. Raceland, La. Breanna Wright Abilene Christian G So. Jarrell, Texas Sights are now set on the 2018 Southland Conference Basketball Tournament, tipping off this week at the Leonard E. Merrell Center in Katy, Texas. The women’s first round begins on Thursday, March 8. Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Chastadie Barrs of Lamar earned her third consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award to headline the All-Defensive Team. The junior guard comfortably leads the nation in steals (186) and steals per game (6.64) and needs just six more to become the single-season leader in Division I history. Natalie White of Florida A&M tallied 191 in 1995. In conference play, the Cardinals rank second in scoring defense, allowing just 55.6 points per game. Kamry Orr Central Arkansas G Jr. Little Rock, Ark. All-conference teams and individual awards are nominated and voted upon by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors. Voting for oneself or one’s own players/coaches is not permitted. To receive honorable mention, a player must appear on at least 25 percent of ballots. Lamar earned another individual superlative in Jadyn Pimentel, tabbed as the Freshman of the Year. The St. Louis, Mo., native ranked third in conference play with 2.6 steals per game while averaging 6.2 points and 2.8 assists per game. Brittany Mbamalu Texas A&M-Corpus Christi G Sr. Houston, Texas FRISCO, Texas – Nicholls junior guard Cassidy Barrios is the 2017-18 Southland Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, the league announced Monday along with the all-conference teams. Southland yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. Taylin Underwood2 Southeastern Louisiana G Sr. Livingston, La. Lamar’s fifth-year head coach Robin Harmony was voted the Southland Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to an outright regular season championship. It is Lamar’s third title overall, first since 2010 and first outright championship. LU posted a 22-6 record this season (17-1 SLC) while leading the league in scoring offense (75.9), scoring margin (+20.4), assists per game (15.8) and steals per game (17.7). She now holds a 91-59 overall record with Lamar. 2018 Women’s Basketball All-Conference Third Team Stevi Parker Stephen F. Austin F. Sr. Bixby, Okla. Moe Kinard2 Lamar G Jr. New Iberia, La. Stephen F. Austin’s Imani Johnson was named the Newcomer of the Year. The junior transfer from Southeast Missouri State started in all 18 league contests, averaging 7.1 points, 3.4 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game.last_img read more